CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > CAMaster Machines > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-20-2020, 07:13 PM
Logan Y Logan Y is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Kansas
Posts: 165
Default How to adjust guide blocks

I've been trying to get my spindle trued vertically for a few months off an on. Now I am about to start flattening slabs so I'd really like it to be true so I don't have the little ridges (1/64") on the edges of the stepover with my 2.5" cutter.

I think the issue started about 6 months ago when I had an issue with my ATC carousel. The ATC wasn't indexing correctly and I didn't notice. There was an issue with the limit switch so it wasn't oriented correctly after it was initialized. Long story short the machine when to change a tool and slammed into a tool fork end because it wasn't rotated out of the way. I didn't surface my spoilboard for a little while and I didn't notice anything strange with my smaller bits.

Once I noticed the issue while surfacing my spoilboard I used the metal rod trick to check and see if my spindle was true and "shocker" it wasn't. I originally thought that it had moved the plate that the spindle is attached to so I loosed those bolts and moved it as far in the needed direction as I could. That helped some and reduced my stepover ridges from 1/16" to 1/64".

I decided yesterday to take another look at it to see if I can get it adjusted the rest of the way before I start my slab work and realized that the z carriage is out of plumb. My machine is level, the y axis rails are level, the horizontal carriage is level, and the x axis rails are level.

The carriage that mounts to the x axis rails with 4 guide blocks (2 upper and 2 lower) is out of plumb and I don't know how to fix it. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to go about getting everything back to the way it should be? I can cheat the system by using a smaller diameter cutter when doing my work if it is something I can't do myself but I'd prefer to get it back to the way it should be.
__________________
4'x8' Stinger IV w/ 4.2 hp spindle and 4 tool ATC
Mister system
Phenolic Vac table
Hurricane Vac
Vcarve Pro 10



Catholic school IT director, wannabe woodworker, Krav Maga instructor, and CNC enthusiast
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-20-2020, 09:26 PM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
ADMINISTRATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,815
Default

The plate that the Spindle is mounted on has four bolts that hold the spindle in it's vertical orientation, at least side to side. When tramming, you loosen three of them and "barely" loosen the fourth so you can make the tramming adjustment for left-to-right with some gentle taps. I had to do a very minor tweak of that on my machine, but it was never as much as 1/64" inch. If your "out of vertical" is front to back (tilted on the Y axis), someone else will have to comment on how to fix that...I'm guessing it may involve some kind of shimming.
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
bvww.etsy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-20-2020, 10:41 PM
Logan Y Logan Y is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Kansas
Posts: 165
Default

I adjusted those 4 bolts but I couldn't get all the lean out of it. That's how I moved it from 1/16 to 1/64 tall ridge.

The lean is in the x direction and not the y
__________________
4'x8' Stinger IV w/ 4.2 hp spindle and 4 tool ATC
Mister system
Phenolic Vac table
Hurricane Vac
Vcarve Pro 10



Catholic school IT director, wannabe woodworker, Krav Maga instructor, and CNC enthusiast
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-21-2020, 09:40 AM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
ADMINISTRATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,815
Default

Ok, you probably reached the limit of the bolt holes on one side. So if you were tapping, say, the left top to tilt the spindle to the right, tap the bottom right edge to get the rest of that 1/64" difference as it's way out of bounds over such a small distance. (the tool width) These taps need to be "tiny" at this point as you sneak up on perfectly vertical.
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
bvww.etsy.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.