CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > Tips & Techniques > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-22-2018, 04:34 PM
Jim_in_PA Jim_in_PA is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 717
Default Tool Change Prompts (with FTC)

I'm truly loving have the FTC active and working on my SR-44...even though the time to change a tool and measure is about the same as "manual measurement" it's a lot less tedious and it's also nice having a smaller number of cutting files for a given project.

One thing that's kinda strange to me, however, is that WinCNC doesn't prompt for the tool in what I consider a logical way. There's no message that says "change too" or "which tool". Only a "remove dust boot and press enter". Michael from Camaster indicates this is normal behavior.

Has anyone come up with a way that actually uses the tool information from the TAP files to prompt for both the change and the correct tool? It seems to me that would help reduce human errors. As it is, it means one must memorize the toolpath order and tools required for each change without such helpful prompting.

Thoughts? Solutions? Recommendations for a great bottle of wine to overcome this angst?
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-22-2018, 06:11 PM
Rlee1972 Rlee1972 is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 461
Default

Jim,
I have some great recommendations for a bottle of wine but not the WIN fix you seek.....lol
__________________
Ron Lee
Blackshear, Ga
2018 Cobra Elite 5 x 10
HSD 12HP ATC
20 Tool Holder
25HP Regen Vac

2017 Panther 408
HSD 5HP ATC
6 Tool Rotary Carousel
Recoil Lathe
Laser
Aspire 9.0
PhotoVcarve



Be humble.
Be kind.
Be grateful.
Life is too short and prone to quickly change to live otherwise.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-22-2018, 06:49 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,741
Default

Jim...
You sat in the front row….
Remember the "Organize multiple bits" on the CNC checklist?
Now do you know why it was there?

I have messed with this in the past. The problem is that the toolname variable cannot be passed thru to the FTC macro. The Vectric toolname is listed on the line before or after the "T" tool call, but you would have to scroll up a few lines in the code viewer to see it.
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-22-2018, 07:25 PM
Charlie_L Charlie_L is offline
Stinger II Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,394
Default

Like Gary says, you just hit the scroll up for the text window where you see the WinCNC commands.
__________________
Charlie L
Stinger II, 48 by 48, 1.7 kW Spindle, FTC + Laser + Recoil + Vacuum, July 2012
WinCNC 2.5.03, Aspire 9, PhotoVCarve, Windows 7 Pro SP1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-22-2018, 07:31 PM
Bruce Page Bruce Page is offline
Stinger I Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,456
Default

I don’t use the FTC as often as I should, especially if it is only a 1 or 2 cutter job. If it requires multiple cutters and the FTC I use this simple organizer.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tool holder.jpg (72.5 KB, 75 views)
__________________
Bruce Page
Retired Hobbyist
2013 Stinger 1 SR23
FTC
Laser Pointer
HSD 1.7kw Spindle
KRS USB Keypad
Mick Martin Table
Aspire 8.5, WinCNC
Chips-a-flyin’
brucep128@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-22-2018, 08:10 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Tech & Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,741
Default

Here's one of mine
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20180322_094009289.jpg (75.6 KB, 92 views)
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-22-2018, 08:24 PM
Jim_in_PA Jim_in_PA is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 717
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Campbell View Post
Jim...
You sat in the front row….
Remember the "Organize multiple bits" on the CNC checklist?
Now do you know why it was there?

I have messed with this in the past. The problem is that the toolname variable cannot be passed thru to the FTC macro. The Vectric toolname is listed on the line before or after the "T" tool call, but you would have to scroll up a few lines in the code viewer to see it.
Yea, I know...I'm peeing on rainbows here. :) I guess I expect too much logic from, um...computers. LOL

I'll have to get to cutting that top-of-controller tool holder sooner, rather than later, since that's pretty much the best way to handle this to insure no mistakes are made.
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-22-2018, 09:03 PM
eph210 eph210 is offline
Camaster Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: southern Alberta
Posts: 160
Default

When I first started with WinCNC I had to scroll up a few lines at a tool change in order to see the tool call out. After using WinCNC for a while I learnt that I could re-configure the screen to be able to display more of the code. If the code box is expanded to show at least 12 lines, the tool call out is visible.
The WinCNC display is very adaptable but it is not drag and drop. I have changed the display a number of times as I have added various items to it.

Before you make any changes, make a copy of the entire WinCNC folder and store it somewhere safe.

Here is a thread with more information:
http://www.camheads.org/showthread.p...=wincnc+screen
__________________
Euan Hanchard
Serrano Studios
Stinger I FTC
Wincnc vcarvepro

Last edited by eph210; 06-22-2018 at 09:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-22-2018, 09:43 PM
drummerjg drummerjg is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Addison, PA
Posts: 601
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Page View Post
I don’t use the FTC as often as I should, especially if it is only a 1 or 2 cutter job. If it requires multiple cutters and the FTC I use this simple organizer.
Very nice, Bruce! I see a quickie project for me.
__________________
Joe Garber
Retired Hobbyist
Stinger 1 SR24
FTC
Laser Pointer
HSD 1.7kw Spindle
Indexing Lathe
WinCNC, Aspire 9.5, PhotoCarve
Storm Vacuum
trommlerjg@gmail.com


How to count to 10 in Windows:
1,2,3,95,NT,2000,XP,Vista,7,8,10
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-23-2018, 12:50 PM
Ger21 Ger21 is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Shelby Township, MI
Posts: 344
Default

Quote:
The problem is that the toolname variable cannot be passed thru to the FTC macro. The Vectric toolname is listed on the line before or after the "T" tool call, but you would have to scroll up a few lines in the code viewer to see it.

Why not edit the post to put it on the same line? Or will WinCNC not allow that?
__________________
Gerry

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.