CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC

Go Back   CAMheads CNC Router Forum By: CAMaster CNC > The Water Cooler > The Water Cooler

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-15-2020, 03:31 PM
TJCornish TJCornish is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 44
Default

We should make a distinction between “upgrading” meaning installing Windows 10 over the old Windows 7 on the machine, or “migrating/replacing” a Windows 7 machine with a Windows 10 machine (even if it’s the same hardware) via a clean install. My real job is in IT and never in 20+ years have I believed in-place OS upgrades are a good idea. If by upgrading you mean you’ll also replace the PC hardware, or that you plan to buy a new hard drive (upgrading from a conventional drive to a solid-state drive is life-changing and absolutely worth the work), then it’s not that big of a deal depending on how old your gear is.

Jim’s note above is correct - if you already have WinCNC 2.6, you can upgrade with no PCI card changes, daughter board changes, or software costs. You will have to download the latest version of WinCNC 2.6 from the WinCNC website. The install is pretty simple - after Windows 10 is installed, copy the WinCNC folder to the C: drive and then you can run the new WinCNC 2.6 version you downloaded which will update the relevant files. You then run the driver installer program to setup the PCI card drivers. The WinCNC site walks you through this.

If your WinCNC version is older than 2.6, you’ll need to spend some money on updated hardware and possibly software costs.

My Stinger hails from 2014 and I successfully updated it (clean install on new disk drive) from Windows 7 to Windows 10 via the above process. Once in a blue moon after Windows Updates I have to reinstall the Driverinstaller program, but other than that it is flawless. Windows 10 on the SSD I put in is SOOOO much faster than the original Windows 7 install on the conventional drive the PC came with.

One other note - if you’re considering new hardware, you may have trouble buying an off-the-shelf system that will work. You almost certainly have a PCI card which is rare on current motherboards, and you definitely have a full-height card, which means you need to get a fairly large case to have room for it. Many of the desktops that are around these days are too short for a full-size card.

WinCNC sells compatible computers for a reasonable price and you can still order new motherboards with PCI slots so this isn’t a big deal, but something to keep in mind.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-15-2020, 10:36 PM
Brian O Brian O is offline
CAMhead Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sykesvile Md
Posts: 541
Default

Do the folks from wincnc offer a new pc with windows 10 and all the bells and whistles needed as a plug and play solution?
__________________
Brian O

stinger III x3

vcarve pro
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-16-2020, 08:14 AM
TJCornish TJCornish is offline
CAMhead Friend
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 44
Default

Yes:
http://wincnc.net/parts.php
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-16-2020, 10:32 AM
james mcgrew's Avatar
james mcgrew james mcgrew is offline
Administrator, (MOD, KOTR)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ridgeway sc
Posts: 7,098
Default

Damn they have come a long way !
__________________
James McGrew
CAMaster ATC 508
The principle of Measure twice cut once has not been replaced by a CNC

www.mcgrewwoodwork.com

https://www.facebook.com/pg/Mcgrew-W...=page_internal

Camera 1 ATC Closeup !
https://video.nest.com/live/esNTrZ
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-16-2020, 09:44 PM
Jim Becker Jim Becker is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,376
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian O View Post
Do the folks from wincnc offer a new pc with windows 10 and all the bells and whistles needed as a plug and play solution?
Yes, they do...pre-configured, even. It's more money than a "build your own" solution, but...pre-configured.
__________________
---
Jim Becker

SR-44 (2018), 1.7kw spindle, Performance Premium, USB, Keypad, T-Slot table (y-axis configuration), WinCNC, VCarve Pro upgraded to Aspire

Non CNC stuff...

SCM/Minimax - slider/JP/BS
Festool "a good collection"
Stubby - lathe
Oneida Cyclone
more...

Retired from full time work in the telecom industry 9/2017
Commission work for equestrian tack storage and other custom furniture and cabinetry
Located Bucks County PA
http://bvww.us
bvww.etsy.com
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old Yesterday, 12:37 PM
keithrhyde keithrhyde is offline
CAMaster Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Winchester, Virginia
Posts: 324
Default WinCNC 3.0

Has anyone upgraded to wincnc 3.0? What are the differences and/or advantages? Please share. Thank you.
__________________
Keith Hyde, Winchester, VA
2016 Stinger 1, 1.7KW HF Spindle HSD
Performance Package Pro, Vac, lathe, Aspire 9
Former Marine and retired Seabee Master Chief.
Furniture is my hobby not my vocation.
hyde.consulting@comcast.net
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old Yesterday, 03:04 PM
Gary Campbell's Avatar
Gary Campbell Gary Campbell is offline
CNC Consultants and Trainers
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marquette, MI USA
Posts: 2,987
Default

I've done about a half dozen machines with WinCNC 3.0xx. A few bug fixes, a number of compatibility things enhanced with new/old computer/PCI card combinations.

Feature additions: Few, if any, you would notice. Depending on the age/number of your computer (32 vs 64), daughterboard (new vs old) and your current version, there may some upgrade costs (in the hundred$)

Old saying: If you don't have an issue that requires the upgrade, don't upgrade.
__________________
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology and Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411@gmail.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1/videos

"There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary logic, and those who don't"
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old Yesterday, 05:57 PM
Bruce Page Bruce Page is offline
Stinger I Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,513
Default

I got back in the shop today. It turns out my WinCNC version is 2.5.01 so I think I'll pass on upgrading to Win10. Everything works great as is.
I did upgrade the Camaster PC to 8 gigs ram and a 500gig SSD a couple months ago so I'm golden there.

Thanks again for all the shared knowledge.
__________________
Bruce Page
Retired Hobbyist
2013 Stinger 1 SR23
FTC
Laser Pointer
HSD 1.7kw Spindle
KRS USB Keypad
Mick Martin Table
Aspire 10, WinCNC
Chips-a-flyin’
brucep128@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old Yesterday, 06:08 PM
Charlie_L Charlie_L is offline
Stinger II Owner
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Page View Post
I did upgrade the Camaster PC to 8 gigs ram and a 500gig SSD a couple months ago so I'm golden there.
Bruce,
Can you describe the how the changes improved performance? I've got similar hardware and thoughts of changing.
__________________
Charlie L
Stinger II, 48 by 48, 1.7 kW Spindle, FTC + Laser + Recoil + Vacuum, July 2012
WinCNC 2.5.03, Aspire 9, PhotoVCarve, Windows 7 Pro SP1
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old Yesterday, 06:20 PM
Bruce Page Bruce Page is offline
Stinger I Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,513
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie_L View Post
Bruce,
Can you describe the how the changes improved performance? I've got similar hardware and thoughts of changing.
It raised the performance several bars. If I wanted to edit something in Aspire while running WinCNC the system would slow down to a crawl. The biggest booster there was upgrading the ram to 8 gigs. It only had 2 from Camaster.
Total cost was less than $200.
If I had known that WinCNC sells complete upgraded PC's I would have seriously looked at them.
__________________
Bruce Page
Retired Hobbyist
2013 Stinger 1 SR23
FTC
Laser Pointer
HSD 1.7kw Spindle
KRS USB Keypad
Mick Martin Table
Aspire 10, WinCNC
Chips-a-flyin’
brucep128@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.